Cape Town’s bid story

The City of Cape Town's successful bid for World Design Capital 2014 was coordinated by the Cape Town Partnership, in collaboration with a wide range of stakeholders and supporters.

Expert Selection Committee to appoint World Design Capital 2014 Board

The City of Cape Town has mandated an independent World Design Capital 2014 (WDC2014) implementation company to oversee the planning, coordination and rollout of Cape Town’s WDC2014 programme.

A not-for-profit organisation that is still in the process of name registration, the WDC2014 implementation company will report to an independent, voluntary Board consisting of experienced directors. Potential candidates can be nominated by organisations or individuals, and will be evaluated for their collaborative leadership capabilities, skills and experience, rather than as ‘representatives’ of particular organisations.

The WDC2014 implementation company Board will be appointed by a multi-sector Selection Committee made up of:

1.      Dr Luyanda Mpahlwa (Selection Committee Chairperson) – An award winning architect, founder and Design Principal of DesignSpaceAfrica and member of Urban Design Institute of South Africa (UDISA), Luyanda has an MSc Arch degree from The Technical University of Berlin, Germany and an Honorary Doctorate in Science & Technology from the Walter Sisulu University. He was also a member of the WDC2014 Bid Committee and is currently Chairperson of the WDC2014 Interim Advisory Board.

2.      Leshni Shah – A qualified medical doctor, Leshni has held the position of Operations Director of Interactive Africa (the company responsible for the annual Design Indaba Conference and Expo) for the past 8 years. She has an MBA from the UCT Graduate School of Business and has worked in the financial services industry in a strategic marketing role, and in the asset management industry as an analyst and portfolio manager. She is a board member of the Jupiter Drawing Room Cape Town and Riscura (a major risk management company in the financial services sector).

3.      Gavin Silber – Gavin is the Coordinator of the Social Justice Coalition (SJC), a Khayelitsha-based social movement campaigning for improved conditions in informal settlements through grassroots organising, advocacy, research, and partnership development. Previously working at The Treatment Action Campaign (TAC), Ndifuna Ukwazi (Dare to Know), and the Parliament of the United Kingdom, he has a Bachelor’s Degree in Politics, Philosophy and Economics from the University of Cape Town, and an Honours Degree in International Affairs and Political Economy from the University of Stellenbosch.

4.      Mike Marsden – The Deputy City Manager of the City of Cape Town, Mike is a graduate of the University of Cape Town and a registered Professional Engineer. His career started Mike’s career started with the design of Civil Engineering structures. He has had a lengthy involvement in major projects for the City such as Waste Water Treatment Plants, Marine Outfalls, the V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, 2010 FIFA World Cup, Bus Rapid Transit and the Expanded Public Works Programme

5.      Rashid Toefy – CEO of the Cape Town International Convention Centre (Africa’s leading convention centre), Rashid has worked extensively in the travel and tourism industry, both in South Africa and abroad. He spent three years based in Amsterdam, developing business and marketing strategies for tourism businesses in over 30 countries. He has a degree in Economics and Environmental Science, as well an MBA from the University of Cape Town with his Masters Dissertation focusing on Collaborative Leadership. Rashid currently serves on the Board of several organizations, including Cape Town Tourism and the Cape Town Partnership, and is a member of the United Nations Global Compact Advisory Board.

6.      Martin Smuts – Executive Deputy Mayor of the Stellenbosch Municipality, Martin represents Cape Town’s neighbouring World Design Capital 2014 bid partner, Stellenbosch, a hub of design innovation, sustainable thinking, cutting edge research and academic excellence. The Stellenbosch Municipality covers an area of approximately 831 square kilometres and administers the towns and villages of Raithby, Jamestown, Klapmuts, Wemmershoek, Franschhoek, Pniel and Stellenbosch. Smuts is a Member of the Stellenbosch Mayoral Committee, responsible for Town Planning, and is also a Member of the Mayor and Rector’s Forum.

7.      Bulelwa Makalima-Ngewana – A qualified town planner and urban revivalist with extensive experience in managing and coordinating public-private partnerships, Bulelwa is the MD of the Cape Town Partnership (CTP), where she has been for the past 8 years. She was one of the key role players in developing Cape Town’s Central City Development Strategy (CCDS) in 2008, which puts forward a shared vision to guide future developments until 2018, and she is a key driver of this strategy. Bulelwa has played a central role in Cape Town’s World Design Capital 2014 bid, which was coordinated by CTP on behalf of the City, and she sits on the boards of the Central City Improvement District (CCID), Cape Town Tourism, Cape Town Heritage Trust, Wesgro, and the Kuyasa Fund.

Says Board Selection Committee Chair, Luyanda Mpahlwa, “World Design Capital 2014 is about bringing the benefits of the designation to communities, to practitioners and policymakers, and proving that design can be used to achieve an inclusive city. We need passionate, committed, partnership-minded Board members to help the World Design Capital 2014 implementation company – and Cape Town – to live up to this challenge.”

Nomination deadline

Board nomination forms can be accessed via the widget at the top right of this page (or just click here) and must be submitted, together with a CV, by 18h00 on Wednesday 18 July 2012. The Board will be announced by no later than 31 August 2012.

Mike Purdham can be contacted at +27 (0)21 419 1881 or for any further information relating to the nomination process.

Image: Bruce Sutherland, City of Cape Town